Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Let’s Stab 2011 In The Face, Put Rocks In Its Pockets, And Roll It Off The End Of The Pier

Posted in 2012 - A Year Of Lasts by Huckleberry on December 29, 2011

If contemporary existence were a Disneyland rollercoaster, this is where we'd be. Plus, if you're betting on the Rose Bowl, maybe don't bet on Oregon.

My God in Heaven, I cannot wait to put this damnable year safely in the rear view mirror.
Sadly, though, I hold out little hope that 2012 will be much better. In fact, from the very first week in January, I’m about to lose three very necessary and substantial streams of income for no other reason than an Internet powerhouse whose name you’d recognize wants everything on the Web to be like YouTube instead of, you know, useful.
So I already know that the first few weeks of aught-twelve will be incredibly awful, and arduous, and will test my mettle and patience in ways that it has not been in years.
A part of me looks forward to the challenge; the wiser, saner parts of me wouldn’t shut up with the bitching long enough for me to even enjoy my Christmas.
Anyway, this will probably be my last post of the accursed year 2011. Looking back, it seems I’ve averaged one post per month.
I’m sure that’s indicative of something, but I just don’t have the desire to parse it out.
I’d like to think, however naive and pathetic, that on balance good things are ahead. For myself, and in general.
Sure, the economy is in the shitter, and I don’t mean proverbially.
Sure, every “electable” candidate for President of the United States is a joke without a punchline.
Sure, there’s no good reason to think that anything will get better in the short term.
It probably won’t. But, and I can’t speak for y’all, but I’m planning to live a good while longer than the short term. The collapse we are witnessing is the collapse that has been too long in coming. It is the first step to a better existence.
In the meantime, all you can do is keep your head on a swivel, learn to appreciate the small (and free!) joys in life, and power through it the best way you can.
What’s the worst that can happen, Mitt Romney becomes President of the United States with a RINO Senate and House of Representatives?
Don’t answer that.
To the point, be careful, be hopeful, and be thankful that a truly horrible year is dispensed with, and that the future still holds something to get you out of bed in the morning.
Have a great new year, and I’ll try my best to double my posting average.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doom said, on December 31, 2011 at 03:44

    I don’t know. I sort of liked 2011. I found out I wasn’t actually crazy, I’m just dying. No, that really was a good thing, to me. Not so much the dying part, just the not crazy part. Of course, the V.A. still has me tagged as crazy because a change in that might mean a lot of paperwork so I am banned by the FBI from buying guns, at least in Utah. I am fighting that, as I can in my condition. Then, of course, I bought a house right through a crashing economy, somehow. Not sure if that was technically wise, but… I can do what I want in my own home and don’t have to worry about crappy neighbors playing music upstairs or next door through the wall. And, I finally started doing better on medications until I got to half the useful dose, then had to back down because I couldn’t get out of bed, or actually, even take them regularly on half the useful dose. But at least I am more functional, for now.

    I think you are just a meany. Relax, enjoy, like me. *grins*

  2. Arielle said, on January 10, 2012 at 05:32

    I don’t usually pay much attention to the year division. I’m alive, I have people that I love and that love me, and my life isn’t horribly difficult or fraught with danger right now – we eat, we have a house to live in, our bills are paid. I feel like I have too much to be grateful for right now to let fear of the future or sorrow from the past weigh me down.


Leave a Reply

