Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Don’t Clap Too Loudly – It’s A Very Old World

Posted in Life's A Gamble by Huckleberry on December 18, 2013

Artist's rendering of Huck's 2013.

Artist’s rendering of Huck’s 2013.


Winter descends upon us, and here it’s a frigid 74 degrees as I write this, though it did dip down into the 40s a couple of nights last week. When I half-complained that 2012 went too quickly for my own misery to even notice, here comes 2013 to double-down on the velocity.*
But it’s almost over now.
I probably won’t do my depressing end-of-year post until a little closer to 2014, wherein I’ll do my usual kvetching about the things that I find are worthy of a good, old fashioned kvetching. In the meantime, all of my projects are winding down for the holidays, and I’ve wrapped up the last one just minutes ago. I’ve got some vacation time coming up, and sadly it feels like it’s already spent with a to-do list six miles long. While it’s been a bad (sort of) year here, for whatever reason I’m optimistic about 2014 and I can’t put my finger on why.
This isn’t going to be an overly long post, I’m just taking the opportunity to wish y’all a Merry Christmas while I still feel in the spirit to properly do so.
Even the wretchedness of our ruling class, the disintegration of civilized life, and the degradation of contemporary thought can’t bring be down right now. The prevailing mood is one of fragility, which is rational, because we do occupy an incredibly old world, yet it’s one that has so far withstood the very worst humanity could muster, time and again. In the larger scheme I see no reason why we’re so special as to think we and we alone will be the ones to finally shatter the sky and render the earth unto Oblivion.
The standing rule with civilizations is the same as it is for gambling winnings: easy come, easy go.
And go it shall, for a while, but maybe the third time’ll be the charm.

* Little known fact – people use the word velocity as a direct synonym with speed. This is incorrect. An object’s velocity accounts for its rate of acceleration** plus its direction. In relation to the year 2013, I’ll leave it to you to parse out which direction I think it went.
** Also, acceleration is commonly misused as only an increase in speed, doubling down on the error by insisting that deceleration means a reduction in speed. Acceleration is the word used to describe any change in speed, increase or decrease***.
*** Yes, I’m getting extremely pedantic in my old age. What of it?****
**** Don’t answer that.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on December 18, 2013 at 20:02

    And a Merry Christmas to you and yours, Huck. May God bless you this new year. Janet Yellen sure ain’t gonna.

  2. Doom said, on December 18, 2013 at 21:44

    Merry Christmas to you as well.

    I had… a notion… several months back, a couple of them… that the feared civil war might not end up being what I thought it would be. Not sure, don’t know, felt like a fever broke, along with the will to destroy. Bad things are still coming, just not the fifty foot wave of death it was.

    As to the reality of modernist reality bringing you down? Don’t let it. Worst case? Learn some fine and fancy steps with which to dance on your grave so that they can’t take that away from you! Or eat the bread of man and pay the price. Hmm, I don’t even know what all that means, I just write, mind you… mostly.

  3. Doom said, on December 19, 2013 at 22:19

    Don’t know if you ever stopped by my blog. I’ve gone private. If you want, I could send an invite. I think you have access to my email from below? Just need an email address. If it isn’t a google account, I will have to refresh it every month, I guess. Anyway… just letting some of the ‘old ones’ know.


Leave a Reply

