Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Preparation For Disasters, Big And Small

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on March 12, 2014

On the way.

On the way.


As El Borak took a whole two months off from blogging before diving back in with an incredibly interesting and useful site, along with the general doom-saying from Doom and others ‘round the Internets, it’s time to turn to the one topic I don’t think I’ve ever discussed here in this space – preparation.
I’m not prepared for 50 years of The End Of The World.
Hardly anyone really is, no matter how much food they have stored or how dry their powder is kept. Surviving disasters – no matter what kind they are – has little to do with bunkers and stockpiles for decades. It’s about getting through the first five minutes, then the next hour, the next day, the next week, and so on. All of my preparations, whatever they are, is about getting to the next step, with enough flexibility to apply to a broad spectrum of possible occurrences.
I carry around a back pack just about everywhere I go, and since most of my commutes and errands are either on foot or in my truck, the point of the back pack is to have enough to get me back to my truck, or back home on foot anywhere with a half-day’s travel. It’s intended to suffice for up to 8 to 16 hours depending on weather and how much I have to exert myself. The basic plan for most situations is the back pack gets me to the truck, which has a more extensive pack of supplies suitable for up to 72 hours in most circumstances. From there, the truck either needs to get me home, or out to the desert if flight is warranted.
Once in the desert with the rest of the family and close friends, it’s a matter of assessing the situation and determining the best course of action. The family’s desert home is stocked with the basics, suitable for 24 people for two weeks, 12 people for a month, six people for two months, three people for three months. While we’ve taken pretty good steps to overestimate necessities and overstock considerably, I’m sure in the back of my mind that it just isn’t enough, and I’m going to be surprised by the deficiencies that will seem obvious after the fact, but that my imagination just cannot anticipate beforehand.
If there is any need to flee the desert, Stage 4 is the extended family farm in Nebraska.
You’ll notice that most of my plans involve flight, rather than hunkering down. El Borak has noted that you’re better off staying put in many cases, and while on the face of it I agree, given that I live in Los Angeles, staying put is likely only an option if the disaster is localized enough, or short-term enough where riding it out is feasible; certain natural disasters, certain types of political upheaval, localized power-outage, that type of thing. Anything larger or more persistent, and LA is nowhere I want me or my family to attempt to tough it out. And I live on the extreme outskirts of the area, with my ass literally hanging into the wilderness.
But this ain’t the hill I wish to die on.
Anyway, in the back pack, I carry:
5 liters of water
4 energy bars
1 lightweight poncho
1 first aid kit
1 trauma kit
1 Leatherman multi-tool
1 hunting knife
1 spool of nylon rope
3 clips for my carry weapon
1 bucket hat
1 pack of gel sole inserts for my boots
1 handheld radio with solar charger
1 small tube of sunscreen
1 set of spare keys for everything
Cash
5 1-oz silver coins (you never know)
Salt tablets
Once at my truck, the larger BOB contains most of the same stuff, but in larger quantities, along with some basic personal hygiene items, a change of durable yet lightweight clothing and a set of paper maps with all potential back roads, fire roads and access trails highlighted.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on March 12, 2014 at 18:24

    Given the people you hang out with it’s a wonder you’re not depressed all the time…

  2. Giraffe said, on March 12, 2014 at 19:51

    im not ready yet

  3. Doom said, on March 13, 2014 at 11:29

    Excellent post! I moved to where I did specifically for that which you discuss. Further, I live in a stone home, with 2 1/2 to 3 foot thick walls of concrete and rock, big rocks. I don’t have a pack, or a bob in my vehicle. But I keep meaning to do that, again. Had it set for a while but went to Burning Man last year and things scattered, plus I am half dead.

    As ill as I am, many think I would die. But I’m sort of like a disease, a gift that keeps on giving. I have lived without what most people think is required for longer periods than most think they could. I have gone without food for months, I have skimped on water in ways most people truly can’t, I have learned to deal with the boredom of a very slow debilitating death, and I keep going. So… I decided to prep a bit, both for when my health isn’t so good and I can’t get to food now, and for then. Some of us don’t get to die, might as well be ready. Which… is part of why I can… seem to be… gloomy at times. But don’t take that too seriously. I told you, I am enjoying it. Now that I have a few things intellectually and spiritually squared.

    Nice post… You have a couple of adds I am going to put into my bag when I get it together again. Gel soles? Awesome! A couple of those, in the pack and at home, to allow for an easier familiarity with walking everywhere, including to the local water hole just to get water. Bleh. And that is the thing… you can’t stock for forever, but you can stock up enough to survive rightly long enough to begin to figure out just what we lost, and get over the pouting. Yum!

    El Borak,

    I knew you were just as sweet as I was, but you don’t have to go flashing that bad boy.

    What am I saying! Of course you do. And I resemble that remark.

    Hmm… okay, that does look like a decent site. I’ll have to review it a bit more, before I decide to make it permanent, but… I think I’m going to add it to my prep sites link area. I’m trying to get good ones, not the commercial fillers. I hate those fuckers… they will try to sell you anything, much of it junk. I hate that.

    • El Borak said, on March 13, 2014 at 18:45

      Prepper site without doom pr0n or freeze-dried avacados. Someone’s gotta do it.


Leave a Reply

