Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Huck vs Our Simple Affirmative Action President – Recount!

Posted in Our Simple Affirmative Action President by Huckleberry on March 31, 2014
No margin for error.

No margin for error.

We did it!
We really did it!
By the absolute slimmest of margins, your pal Huckleberry has bested Our Simple Affirmative Action President at the one thing the O-Force was supposedly good at.
Michigan State?
More like Michigan Mistake.
I couldn’t have done it without the fine young men from the UCONN basketball team, along with the wonderful lads from the University of Kentucky basketball team, and of course, I couldn’t have done it without you, my six faithful readers.
This victory is really your victory, for I toil away for y’all here behind this keyboard.
Go forth and celebrate, for we can truly claim the day.*

FINAL TALLY PICKS

HUCK: 40-23
OUR SIMPLE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION PRESIDENT: 39-24

FINAL TALLY POINTS

HUCK: 118
OUR SIMPLE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION PRESIDENT: 114

Also, three other fun things happened this weekend.
Boston College Hockey is going to the Frozen Four.
The never-ending spring is prompting our orange trees to give us a second round of fruit for the season. They’ll probably be too tart for pickin’ and eatin’, but they’ll juice up well.
And I was able to irritate the Vegan-If-You-Count-Cake-As-A-Vegetable neighbors to no good end with yard work, interrupting an impromptu “luncheon” they were having for people they were trying to sell useless “crafts” to. The fat(ter) neighbor asked, while I was in the middle cutting up a thorn-apple thicket with a chain saw if I could stop for an hour. Ever polite, I agreed but clearly stated I’d be back in one hour. And I was, so I started right back where I left off even though the Vegans hadn’t started their lunch yet.
And they were quite displeased.
It’s funny how living on an acre of property and I have more trouble with neighbors now than I did when I lived in an apartment.
At any rate, it was a good weekend.

* Yes, the basketball tournament is not over, but it basically is for myself and President Brick Layer, since neither of us has any more correct picks to be made on the board. Certainly, the pedants may quibble that a one-game, four-point margin of victory is nothing worth crowing about, that if not for two lucky breaks going Huckleberry’s way, this thing is just as much of a rout the other way. I call those pedants communists, and they are best simply ignored.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Giraffe said, on March 31, 2014 at 09:05

    I have 15 acres. Closest neighbor 1/4 mile. We still manage to annoy one another but it is almost always related to one persons dog coming over. My neighbors dog got run over, which saved me the hassle of shooting it.

  2. El Borak said, on March 31, 2014 at 11:31

    How’d you get the blood off your bumper?

  3. Giraffe said, on March 31, 2014 at 12:59

    Wasn’t me, I was on vacation. But I think just a brush and the hose would do the trick.

  4. Giraffe said, on April 1, 2014 at 09:39

    By the way, Huck… Congratulations?*

    *I don’t know whether I should be giving you a hard time for almost losing to a simpleton, or congratulating you on your hard fought victory.

    • Huckleberry said, on April 1, 2014 at 19:15

      I don’t know either, to be honest.
      I’m resigned to simple relief that its over, and the W is safely in my column.
      Beyond that, I’ll simply wait for January 20, 2017, then laugh my ass off.


Leave a Reply

