Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in The Fail Pail by Huckleberry on April 25, 2014

Winding down.
Nothing like a Thursday off to make Friday seem just fine.
This weekend, starting tonight in fact, I’m putting the Bultaco bike back together, see if the frame holds under load, then maybe take it out to the desert in a couple of weeks.
For those that don’t know, in my wee youth (age 10), my first vehicle was a 1970 Bultaco Matador, an incredibly engineered dirt/track/off-road bike that I used to tromp all through the Southern California deserts. At some point I had sold it or it got sold, and now they are pretty tough to find. But last year I found the OG frame for one through a buddy. The only problem is that its downtube was bashed in and wrecked. Which, for a motorcycle’s frame, is crucial to it’s structural integrity.
In my spare moments, I’ve sleeved, welded, resleeved and buffeted a replacement downtube, and reinforced other key areas of the frame, and this weekend I’m blessed with enough spare time to install all of the other things, like the engine, the electrics, the tank, etc.
If you’re wondering what my trade will be in the Post-Everything world, it’ll probably auto, bike and metal fabrication*.
Which is just fine, except if I have to bug out, most of the tools ain’t going with me.
Alas.
Anyway, as for the music, listen to this song.
You’ll be better for it.
Have a great weekend, and get ’em in.

* And if any or all of those things are prohibitively expensive, rare or otherwise impossible, I can always fall back on becoming a punk rock warlord.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Giraffe said, on April 26, 2014 at 14:32

    Good tune. I liked last week’s too.

  2. El Borak said, on April 26, 2014 at 14:33

    A society can never have enough punk rock warlords, as far as I’m concerned.


Leave a Reply

