Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Chasing A Setting Sun

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline, The Next Ten Years by Huckleberry on April 29, 2014

I'm not the only one who saw this coming...

I’m not the only one who saw this coming…


So the Wife asked me this weekend, as I was writing the next primer, how I could be so certain that “The End” was coming. Was it the economy? The memory gap? What one thing was I really teeing off of here?
I tried to reiterate what I’ve already stated, that it isn’t any one thing, specifically.
She called hogwash, pointing out that I’d been talking up this collapse and decline for more than a decade, yet only recently and suddenly did I decide to write it out in any meaningful detail.
And she’s right, that doesn’t jibe with my No True Catalyst position, because while I maintain that there is no single catalyst for a long-simmering decline, the seeds of which were sown decades before my birth, there is a reason why I’m suddenly trying to hash it out – it’s coming, soon.
How can I tell?, the Wife asks.
Panic.
A sense of panic pervades every rung in contemporary society, from the unbelievably rich to the unfathomably poor, and everyone in between. People are acting more and more like the old rules and ways no longer apply, whether they realize it or not. They are impatient, touchy, and overly sensitive. Considering that more people now act like this than not anymore is a pretty good pressure gauge to use for measuring our decline.
And that decline is happening now.
Right now.
And before the Wife asks why I have to write about it, when surely hundreds of others are also chronicling the decline, I declare that there still is no one single reason for the decline, and few seem to realize it. Almost everyone opining on the subject is either wrong or too narrowly focused.
The economists insist the decline is monetary; the polemicists insist the decline is a matter of dwindling power structures; the strategists lay the decline at the feet of foreign tableaus – either too many or not enough; the elites declare the decline is a conspiracy of the inbred hoi polli, the academics lay the blame upon the bourgeoisie; the religious blame the apostate while the areligious blame the evangelicals; the futurists assert that technology is our only salvation, while the neo-luddites warn that it alone is the path toward our demise.
If we were giving partial credit, they’d all be right. But we’re not, so they aren’t.
While most of those are contributing factors, no single one is responsible. Hell, no 10 of them are. This lamenting and finger-waving suggests that all of this can (or could have) somehow be avoided.
The more I research and analyze, the more certain I become that such isn’t the case.
The decline was always going to come; I’m just trying to hash out the details while racing the sun to the horizon.
Don’t want to spoil it for you, but the sun wins.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on April 29, 2014 at 09:45

    See, I get my panic out of the way early, that way I get to relax and watch everyone else.

  2. Doom said, on April 29, 2014 at 10:21

    Yeah, I see that. I am with El. Popcorn, peanuts, and some decent binoculars. Well, and a few items for those who don’t share my sentiments. Still, hoping for one more year, or three. Like the whites in the eyes of horses near fire, I do see that which you discuss.

    Yeah, and I am with El Borak. Popcorn and peanuts, stocked, with the rest.

  3. Giraffe said, on April 30, 2014 at 07:53

    I know what you describe, because I feel it, but I can’t say I’ve seen it in others. Perhaps I lack the empathy or discernement. I see some outward signs. People are getting chickens, and learning to can. And buying guns.


Leave a Reply

