Rollin' Like Sisyphus

New To You

Posted in The Fail Pail by Huckleberry on May 14, 2014

I’d like to highlight a new addition the blog roll, a blog that among other things shares my growing disdain for the sideshow aspects of professional sports, explores the potential mathematical proof for God, and an exploration into one of the many ways that higher academics is an intrinsically inept institution.
Go forth, all six of you, and enjoy Truth or Consequences.
Plus, he gets bonus points for making no bones about not posting every day, like some lunatics among us.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Giraffe said, on May 14, 2014 at 18:35

    I saw this video. Blows my mind. You have some physics knowledge, right? I’d like to know what you think about it.

  2. Huckleberry said, on May 15, 2014 at 08:02

    Yes, when I was in grad school, a classmate of mine desperately wanted to replicate this experiment, but with the replacement of one of the detectors with a lens instead of a mirror, which would give the “circuit” (for lack of a better term) an open point – allowing for the possibility of some photons not being recorded at all; he guessed that a higher number of photons than probability would predict would “escape” the system undetected.
    Being a state school in California during a budget crisis, he could never get the funding.
    But in his three years there, the English majors got their semesterly retreat in London fully funded, so it all worked itself out.
    And if you’re wondering, that guy is one of the most naturally intelligent, intellectually curious people I’ve ever known, unlike our resident astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, who “doesn’t have time for that.”
    But yes, I have plenty of thoughts.
    I’ll have to do a post, though, because this will require some backstory.
    But I have one question for you – do you want just the nuts and bolts “mainstream” or do you want me to include my crackpottery?
    Choose wisely, because once we go down that path, we might not have enough breadcrumbs to find our way home.

  3. Giraffe said, on May 15, 2014 at 10:21

    I have no fear of crackpottery. I’d only ask you let me know what is crackpottery and what is mainstream.

    I am getting too old and feeble brained at nearly 40 years of age to grok this stuff.

    I am re-reading Schroedinger’s Kittens. According to that book, photons, traveling at speed c, don’t experience the passage of time. So from our frame, a photon hits the first detector before the other has to make it’s decision on whether or not we will know the path information. But from the frame of the two photons, they both arrive at the same instant they left. So there is no “back history” between the time they left and the time they arrive from the frame of the two photons. I don’t know what that means, but damn if it ain’t confusing, since there is a passage of time from our frame between the first photon arriving and the second.

    But I find it shocking, that apparently the universe reacts to a conscious observer. It’s like an Easter egg hidden by the Creator.


Leave a Reply

