Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on August 8, 2014

Friday.
And not a great one.
Had to put a lot of miles on the road without much payoff, so knockin’ off work early and I already have a beer chillin’ in my hand.
It’s worth noting that with US bombs once again falling on an enemy that Our Simple Affirmative Action President doesn’t really want to fight, and to be honest would rather ally with, that maybe some of these things are beyond the simple control of simple minds.
On that note, I’ll dream of a Cowboy life I may yet see.
Get ’em in.

Cowboy Song
Live Performance
Thin Lizzy
Rockpalast | 1981

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on August 8, 2014 at 19:09

    I hate country. While I like Western music (think The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly), I would rather listen to NWA than Garth Brooks.* I hate cowboy songs and songs about old trucks and about friends in low places.

    So it’s weird that last night I dreamed I was in a karaoke country bar with an old friend of mine – an accomplished tenor and KC country-station DJ of some renown – and he was tearing the place up with a song about a guy who rode a one-horned flying bull. “Cowboy Song” was what I woke up thinking.

    Damned if I can figure out what it meant. But I’m pretty sure it’s a portent of imminent and ubiquitous societal suckage.

    * and I’d rather clean all the bathrooms in Grand Central Station with my tongue – to quote a true artist – than listen to NWA.**
    ** Unless covered by Nina Gordon

    • Huckleberry said, on August 9, 2014 at 07:00

      songs about old trucks

      Oh my.
      Well, culture isn’t for everyone, my friend.
      But yeah I’m not a fan generally of Country music, at least anything after about 1959.
      And to be fair, this is a 70s rock song.
      As to the dream, well, I never remember my dreams and I think I’m lucky in that.

  2. El Borak said, on August 9, 2014 at 10:01

    culture isn’t for everyone, my friend.

    I’m content to be considered uncultured. After all, The Rednecks are my people, and so I am willing to suffer their music with good humor.


Leave a Reply

