Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Falling Down

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on September 26, 2014
No, but seriously, get the fuck off my lawn.

No, but seriously, get the fuck off my lawn.

As I grow older and move about in this world, as possibilities collapse into choices made and roads not taken, it’s becoming more difficult to identify the history that’s happening all around us.
Mostly, because that history – the fascination with the grim portents of the current events that comprise the ludicrous 24-hour news cycle – doesn’t matter so much at the level of specifics any more than a few drops of water matter to the flow of a river’s current.
It’s all going to end up in the same place over the falls and into the rocks below.
The notable aspect, then, isn’t so much the water but the current – because the only thing I can tell you for certain is that it’s falling down faster, all of it, and despite the fact that the events happening now will come to shape the course of the 21st century in innumerable ways, the focus on the ephemera reveals something I’ve long suspected and always feared: history isn’t a story of human action. It’s a story of humans swept up into action.
Or maybe I’m just growing into the curmudgeon I’ve always been destined to become, because I can stand less and less of what I see in just about every facet of existence each and every day. For fuck’s sake, I can’t even watch a football game with getting a lecture on how I’m 1) irredeemably racist 2) irrevocably misogynist and 3) an accessory to the abuse of wives and children of people I’ve never met and over whom I hold no influence whatsoever. AND HERE’S A MONTHLONG PINK BITCHSLAP SO THAT YOU ALWAYS REMEMBER BREAST CANCER, YOU STUPID NEANDERTHALS.
As unnecessary as a 24-hour news cycle is for regular news, it’s absolutely preposterous for the sports media. Supply-and-demand ain’t just a footnote in Economics 101, people.
All of this is to say that if you’re going to set yourself to the task of dismantling Western Civilization before my very eyes without even the courtesy of an apology, at least let me watch my fucking sports in peace, you dim-witted, illiterate wastes of human life.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on September 26, 2014 at 11:49

    I don’t have anyting to say about that, but here’s a totally awesome recommendation for Good Music Friday: When the Levee Breaks, which Kansas Joe totally stole from Led Zeppelin before they were born.

    • Huckleberry said, on September 26, 2014 at 12:13

      which Kansas Joe totally stole from Led Zeppelin before they were born

      Excellent selection.
      I would’ve used it if I’d seen it before I posted the one I went with.
      But hey, these work best when y’all toss in your own songs too.


Leave a Reply

