Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on October 10, 2014

I can’t speak for y’all, but I’m just about ready for this week to be over and done with. For as much as I don’t like people as a practical matter — in the abstract we’re all good — they sure do want a piece of me, at least this week.
Nothing much on the agenda this weekend. After a relatively cool week temp wise, the mercury is set to hit about 100 again for both Saturday and Sunday.
So yard work should be fun.
Other than that, I’ll be keeping track of ebola — a much easier task now that the talking heads are getting worked into a bit of a lather over it — and it’s worth noting that the math isn’t in our favor.
I note the cautious glee with which conservative political pundits are greeting the news that deadlocked election polls appear to be breaking their way, maybe.
I’ll still laugh if they lose.
Our Simple Affirmative Action President and his trusty sidekick Vice President-Sheriff Joe Biden have been in town all week, crushing the weary souls of the region’s travelers amid unholy gridlock while shaking what’s left of the Donor Class for cash.
Eh.
Have a kick-ass weekend, stay cool and/or warm as the situation dictates, and get ’em in.

Huck’s Burger Dogs

This one is simple, and kids tend to really enjoy it too.
Chop up a quality hot dog into small pieces, mix with diced onions and ground chuck, then instead of pressing into patties, form them into the shape of hot dogs. Let them chill in the fridge before grilling, then cook ’em at about 325 until they’re done.
Serve on hot dog buns and top with chili and cheese.
Depending on how lean the chuck meat is, you may have problems with the burger dogs breaking up as you grill them. The more fat in the meat, the better they’ll hold together, but even if they break apart a little, slop the remains into buns and enjoy.

Song Selection

Southside of Heaven
Mescalito
Ryan Bingham
Lost Highway Records | 2007

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on October 10, 2014 at 13:40

    Burger dogs sound really good, and since the kids love chili dogs, that might be something we try this weekend. If it doesn’t rain. Or snow.

    I as well am glad this week’s about done. Lots of good things happened and lots of bad, but overall just lots of things happened. I’ve got to take a little work home for the weekend – a bunch of resumes for a director position that I wrote the description for and then passed up for my current position. I’m not sure any of them are a match. Anyone wanna be a $50+k/yr data analyst for a small regional university? Help a brother out. Gas here is $2.97 a gallon.

    In the meantime, let’s all dance like marionettes and pray for that first frost.

      • cfd said, on October 12, 2014 at 09:57

        That job sounds as fun as a box of bricks… I’ll stick to running my 220 processor cluster that I don’t pay power for. Well until I can go 10 x that – 2 years. Assuming ebola doesn’t eat our shit or printing money just f’s us :)*

        * Well that was rosey wasn’t it? See why I don’t comment on the internet much anymore

        Huck – standup job you’re doing, I’m one of the 6 and I appreciate the journeyman’s work your doing in documentation and understand where some days it’s better left unsaid,. You’re tabbed in my browser, I’d like to have a beer with you sometime, but I can’t even pull that off with El Borak and he’s less than 200 miles from me…

  2. El Borak said, on October 12, 2014 at 17:24

    I promise, if that job was any more fun they wouldn’t have to pay you to do it. Best to your lovely bride.

  3. El Borak said, on October 12, 2014 at 19:19

    And I know it’s no longer Friday, but since this song just played on my MP3 for an hour and I didn’t even notice, it’s only fair that I share: Ecstasy of the Animal (my translation). And no, I don’t know Italian. Latin. Whatevs.


Leave a Reply

