Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Wherein Huckleberry Is Almost Tempted To Support Democrats Retaining The Senate

Posted in The Fail Pail by Huckleberry on October 15, 2014

Don't ask stupid questions.

Don’t ask stupid questions.


I’ll just let a GOP “strategist” lay it out there, and see if you can guess what I’m driving at here:

Current conditions are so favorable for the GOP — including the president’s poor poll numbers, the states with Senate races, the lower turnout of Democratic groups in midterm elections, the quality of this cycle’s Republican Senate recruits and the daily dose of negative news that should help the party not holding the White House — that Republican Senate gains of fewer than six seats would be a punch to the party’s solar plexus.

Okay, I put the relevant part in bold.
I couldn’t help myself.
But honestly, the fact that these fears are being aired in, as the strategist suggests, such a favorable environment underscores just how pathetically awful the GOP is these days. Let’s put that on a campaign button for Election Day – Don’t Vote-Gut Punch 50% Of The Deserving.
In other news, “confirmed” cases of US ebola have gone up 100% overnight, as another health care worker contracts the virus. But don’t worry, she was quarantined “90 minutes” after reporting her fever. And it’s not like she was on a plane with 132 other people a mere 12 hours before:

A second Texas nurse who has tested positive for Ebola was on a commercial jetliner from Cleveland to Dallas the night before she arrived at the hospital with a fever and was later diagnosed with the deadly virus, officials said today.

Game on.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Giraffe said, on October 15, 2014 at 12:16

    I’m thinking by election time turnout might be a little suppressed.

    • Huckleberry said, on October 16, 2014 at 12:50

      Wonderful.
      Also, worth noting, they’ve had to quarantine a college about 80 minutes south of me because one of the people trapped on the death tube with Ebola Nurse #2 began vomiting everywhere in a classroom this morning.
      Bodily fluids.
      I still need a director of research
      If I could get my wife to move, I’d already be there.

  2. Res Ipsa said, on October 15, 2014 at 14:05

    Ebola is a republican conspiracy to destroy Obama Care.

    That or a Democratic conspiracy to make Jimmy Carter look a like a GENIUS compared to Obama.

  3. Doom said, on October 15, 2014 at 22:21

    You live in Cali, right? Like you have a choice. Most Republicans, almost anywhere, are just Democrats with an R in front of their names for the suckers. You live in just such a region. Most of us do, though, to be honest. You have your democrat R’s, and your hard democrat R’s, mostly, from what I am seeing where I live. Then again, libertarians are pretty much the same. I guess it comes down to which big businesses you wish to see get government favoritism, and whether you want more or a lot more civil redistribution.

    Your vote, where you live, literally doesn’t matter. Still, if you choose to surrender completely, or believe that balance is the way, or want to simply see the collapse sooner, it’s your choice. I don’t think I will be voting, or watching the tally. I know it won’t matter.

    • Huckleberry said, on October 16, 2014 at 12:57

      Yes and no.
      Surprisingly, some the Rs out here are a far sight better than their counterparts in other places, because they have to be.
      Keep in mind, outside of 3 major metro areas, California is red through-and-through.
      I’d take Tom McClintock over Eric Cantor any day, for example.
      But in general, I agree.

      • Doom said, on October 17, 2014 at 08:16

        Yes, fair enough. My problem is this… when I do see that rare politician I actually believe will attempt to do the right thing, and fundamentally understands the difference, assuming my gut feelings pan out… then there is the notion of actually getting that pol to the ballet, and on to an office. All the while merely with hope that what I saw was correct, and that the pol doesn’t cave to the vast corruption.

        Throwing darts, through a hurricane, at a target I can’t see well. Simply put, my gas money, or walking mojo, are too valuable to waste on “what if?”. I guess we all simply have to make that choice.


Leave a Reply

