Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on October 31, 2014

It’s flipping Halloween.
I’m barely ready for April Fool’s Day, 2013, yet here we are, so let’s get on with it.
While I used to greatly enjoy Halloween in my youth, it has lost its luster even as it hits its peak stride in terms of commercial viability and cultural relevance. When I was a kid, you’d walk around your neighborhood in a bitchin’ costume that you and your parents and siblings made, and then you’d get candy. There was imagination in it, and work, and fun.
Now kids get bussed into neighborhoods miles away from their own, unable to even walk house-to-house – my street tonight will be nothing but long convoys of minivans inching up and down, stopping in front of each house, unloading a massive troupe of 15 to 20 fat Mexican kids from the ghetto draped in cheap $5 costumes from the Bargain Bin, chosen indiscriminately and without thought, who waddle up to the door, beg for candy in Spanish, look at you derisively when they realize you’re not giving out full-size candy bars, then waddle back to the minivan, pile in, crawl 20 feet to the next house and do it all again.
Halloween.
But the day and I have something in common – Halloween has deep roots into Celtic paganism, I have deep roots into Celtic alcoholism, so in that vein I’ll celebrate the day in fine spirits, a bourbon, some pie, some Ole Time Radio on the MP3 player.
What the rest of the weekend may bring, I know not, and could not care less.
Have a good one and get ‘em in.

BBQ Bourbon Punkin Pie

Ever bake a pie on a BBQ grill?
No?
You don’t know what you’re missing.

FIXIN’S

1 Frozen pie crust
8 ounces of evaporated milk
2 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp ginger
3/4 tsp nutmeg or pumpkin spice
6-8 ounces of Makers, 1792, Russell’s or Bookers
1 can of pumpkin filling

DOIN’S

Cook the pie crust in your oven according to the directions on the package.
Whisk together the all of the ingredients except the eggs, and combine in a mixing bowl. Then, crack your eggs and mix them in, whisking everything together.
Pour into pie crust.
Set up your grill to hit about 325. If using charcoal, use indirect setup; if using propane, ignite one burner. Place the pie on the opposite end, cover, and let cook for about half an hour. Uncover, rotate the pie half a turn, then recover and give it another half-hour. Uncover. Use a toothpick to check doneness; pie will be done if you insert the toothpick into the center and it comes out clean.
Let it cool about for a few hours, then serve it up.
Goes great with a beer, by the way.

Song Selection

Hell Night
American Psycho
Misfits
Geffen Records | 1997

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on October 31, 2014 at 11:59

    I got turned off to Halloween when I moved to KC and discovered a city that took it waaaaaaay too seriously. So tonight Obie and I will sit home with a little bowl of candy in case someone shows up – no one has for 10 years – and after he goes to bed I’ll watch SmackDowm with daughter Chili. The sunroom is in and done as well, so maybe after that I’ll sit in it, have a bottle, er, glass of wine, and pray for snow.

    • El Borak said, on October 31, 2014 at 12:18

      And I even forgot my contribution this week. I used to turn off all the lights in my room and listen to this song in the dark. Never needed to take drugs. Not even on Halloween.

      • Huckleberry said, on October 31, 2014 at 19:00

        Excellent choice. This blog always needs Rush.

    • Huckleberry said, on October 31, 2014 at 19:01

      That sounds just about perfect.

  2. Doom said, on November 1, 2014 at 23:38

    I don’t endure your hardship, but… I just gotta tell you… The way you put some things, I just have to laugh. More, though, when you added that you were going to listen to old timey radio, on an mp3. No, no hateness… just funny bone knee-jerk.

    and El Borak…

    I only get a few. I’m an outsider and… my blog makes locals nervous, I think. Still, the ones I see are great. Some are just tiny puppies and kittens, others are the mid-teens in a group. But good kids. I know most, or their parents, roughly. I give full size candy bars, and to the parents when they will accept. Some year I am going to have to dress up. A highlander, since that is, geographically, what I am now.

    You should see some of the costumes! You can tell some of the kids did them up mostly on their own. One of the coolest was a duct tape Thor helm! With chest shield, armor, and cape. I truly enjoy Halloween out here. Even a few of the parents were dressed. Ah… just like I remember.


Leave a Reply

