Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday — Wednesday Edition

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on November 26, 2014

Thanksgiving.
Not much to say, except I’m thankful I don’t have to go anywhere this year beyond the in-laws across the street, so that’s mighty fine. I’ve got some busy work what needs doing and that should occupy most of the day, then dinner and laughing at all of the idiots going shopping Because Deals.
Just a side note — this push by retailers who have finally crossed the line to open up on Thanksgiving day is a sign of a sick economy, not a healthy one.
But what do I know.
Since the world is operating on Half Speed from here on through the New Year, I’ve decided to just throw some shit at the wall here and see what sticks.
You’ve got a music selection, a recipe, and a couple of videos just because.
I’m going to spend more time than I care to admit re-organizing my tools and hardware, so thanks for that.
But honestly, I am thankful for another year passed relatively intact, since I can think of no good reason for my continued survival beyond shear obstinance.
I’m also thankful for, as Our Simple Affirmative Action President would term it, “good TV,” as I spent a good part of my evening yesterday watching peaceful protesters invade local freeways, hurling rocks and bottles at drivers while Doom’s heralded police officers watched on from the hatches of their APCs.
Thin Blue Line, keepin’ us safe, y’all.
This week’s recipe is one of my favorites, right in line with El Borak’s note that everything’s bacon.
Have an awesome holiday and get ’em in.

Deep Fried Bacon Wedges

FIXIN’S

3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 lb thick bacon cut into wedge triangles
3 cups all-purpose flour
salt and pepper to taste
2 cups vegetable oil

DOIN’S

Mix the eggs and milk in a bowl until smooth. Separate the bacon wedges and soak in the mixture for half an hour.
Preheat your grill to about 350 degrees with indirect heat setup. Heat oil in deep skillet over an open flame or on a gas burner.
Mix together the flour, salt, and pepper in a separate bowl. Remove the bacon from the egg bowl, and cover with the flour to coat.
Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.
Fry the bacon wedge 3 to 5 at a time until golden brown, about 4 minutes. Drain on a grill or rack. Once all of the bacon has cooked, place onto the cookie sheet, put it on your grill and cover for about 7 minutes.

Song Selection

The Nurse Who Loved Me
Fantastic Planet
Failure
Warner Bros. | 1996




Video Selection(s)




Leave a Reply

