Rollin' Like Sisyphus

So You Wanna Be A Cop…

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on December 22, 2014
This is ushering in, ironically, a civic order where no lives matter. Good job, guys and gals...

This is ushering in, ironically, a civic order where no lives matter. Good job, guys and gals…

The Hands-Up-Don’t-Shoot crowd has been on something of a rampage this weekend, with cops hunted down and killed in both New York and Florida, and maybe it’s the cynic in me but this is the first real step toward clearing the fencesitters off of their perches, falling into line in one of the two camps — law-and-order and mob-rule. One would hope that the former far outnumbers the latter, but the times are what they are, and the preponderance of people who have chafed against countless petty tyrannies in growing frequency and impudence means the answer to which side will have the greater number depends a bit on, as El Borak touches upon, one’s point of context, a divide that means little now but is actually where all of this is headed.
Everything in this decline will eventually end up on the dividing line between the city and the country. Rural communities will tend to favor their duly sworn law enforcement with generally good reason; rural LEOs are simply far more accountable to their communities than their urban counterparts.
It’s just math.
As for the growing antipathy made explicit by the weekend’s events, I’m afraid the future holds more rather than less as the sides take shape, the lines get traced into the sand, and each doubles down on their own ignorance of the other’s resolve.
I’ve mentioned before that I am not a fan of the police, for both practical and philosophical reasons. The police are the arbiters of the force necessary for the state to adjudicate its manifold petty tyrannies, and in all of the instances where they are called upon to actually protect those they go on and on about protecting, they’re nowhere to be found. The police, in any capacity, are not your servants; they belong entirely to someone else.
However, that doesn’t mean #BlackLivesMatter provides any cover or excuse to the supposedly invalid Black Lives who see favorite multimillionaire basketball stars wearing I Can’t Breathe warm-up shirts, the President of the United States stating his preference for “Good TV” and deciding that cops simply need to die.
The saddest aspect to all of this is that both sides are wholly ignorant of the stakes involved; when the lines are drawn more starkly, each side will think that it’s fighting for the future of civil society. In fact, they are merely scrambling for the last fleeting scraps of influence in a decaying civic order, while in a very sick way the real criminals are absconding with the flatware under the cover of a diversion of opportunity.
It’s no small task to turn an obsequious populace into an obstreperous mob, but we managed it somehow.
Buckle up.

— ADDENDUM —

The game’s afoot:

“We have, for the first time in a number of years, become a ‘wartime’ Police Department,” the message concluded. “We will act accordingly. FORWARD MESSAGE IN ITS ENTIRETY TO ANY AND ALL [members of the service.]”

Just how interesting can the times get?
Sadly, we’re well on the way to finding out.
Also, it should be noted that a Muslim man shot the two “White Privileged” officers who were, in fact, Chinese and Mexican.
It’s all about racism, even when it isn’t.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on December 22, 2014 at 13:22

    My mistake, it was not an XDm but an XDs. Not as easy on the hands as my 1911, but I could get used to it 🙂

    • Huckleberry said, on December 22, 2014 at 20:49

      Yeah I had to get acclimated to the “ergonomics” of my X D a bit, but I’ve never even had it stovepipe on me. I’ve had a lot of weapons in my life, and I expect to have many more when all is said and done, but this one has won a special place in my heart.

  2. cfdxprt said, on December 22, 2014 at 13:54

    I ❤ my XDs. A bit snappy because it's so light, but an excellent conceal gun. Since I really only have friends on the intertubes,..does anyone have experience with Kimber's? Are they worth the upcharge? I really want a 1911 framed weapon and right now I could justify getting a Kimber, I just don't know if they're worth it.

    • El Borak said, on December 22, 2014 at 14:39

      Never shot one but I do have their latest catalog in my bathroom. Just for the articles, you understand 😉

    • Huckleberry said, on December 22, 2014 at 20:39

      I put about 100 rounds through a Kimber Custom 2 at a range a few years ago. I liked it well enough. Accurate, almost no kick, but nothing that impressed me so much I had to pay a premium for it.

  3. Giraffe said, on December 23, 2014 at 08:48

    Res Ipsa has a Kimber. 704 houser up there on Huck’s Blogroll.

    • Huckleberry said, on December 23, 2014 at 09:21

      Thats right, I forgot about that. He does some comp shooting with it if I remember correctly.

  4. El Borak said, on December 23, 2014 at 11:41

    I actually took 3 guns to the range. My 1911, the XDs, and a Colt 38 Special police revolver that will very soon belong to daughter Chili (I bought it from her grandfather’s estate with her in mind). While the ergonomics of the XDs were not as good as the 1911, they were still better than that .38. I’m not sure if police in the 1950s had tiny hands or what. Chili has tiny hands, so I’m sure it’ll be better for her than for El B with his fat 1911-loving fingers.


Leave a Reply

