Rollin' Like Sisyphus

All Our Days Are Passed Away…

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on December 31, 2014
2015, coming at ya...

2015, coming at ya…

2014, lo have I grappled with thee, now from Hell’s Heart, I stab at thee.
Good riddance.
What a year.
What a feckless, pointless, semi-psychotic, quasi-dementional* distribution of 365.25 days and nights. In sum, in ways large and small, the past calendar year seems like a complete waste of time, energy and resources, and had I been offered the choice, I would have skipped the endeavor entirely. In a way, 2014 was just a tease; waiting for a shoe to drop only to realize the leprotic pedal within was slowly crumbling to dust. And much to our horror, the shoe is the only thing holding everything together.
But we survived at least the better part of it, friends, and that’s worth a toast in its own right.
So here I sit on this last bastard day of this dismally bastard year, the last bowl game of the day going on in the background, and I’m contemplating on the year that was with a mix of both relief and dread, though the bourbon chills the latter some. Tonight we’re watching the nieces and nephew, we’ll play card games and board games and see if the nephew is ready for chess, and I doubt I could think of a better way to spend the evening. Tomorrow we’ll watch football, we’ll eat better than a whole lot of other people could hope to, and then spend the next couple of weeks wondering how we got screwed out of hoverboards, arguably the only thing I’ve been looking forward to with this whole “future” business my entire life.
Alas.
Honestly, though, I don’t know what to make of 2015 at all. What do you really do when Armageddon is always coming but never arrives? That’s how I regard the coming year. More foreboding, more leprotic limbs falling off, yet this zombie we call a culture marches on oblivious to its own demise.
I expect more cop antipathy, both of and by the Thin Blue Line; I expect Congress to continue it’s completely worthless Theater of Opposition to Our Simple Affirmative Action President as Washington’s transformation to Mogadishu on the Potomac becomes complete; J.E.B. Bush will somehow be your frontrunner for the Republican nominee for the President of the United States; the underpinnings of a genuine third party may coalesce around the notion that the existing political paradigm in the United States is a sick, goddamn joke, and naturally both parties and the media will work to kill it ASAP; Europe will be at war in some form, but no one will admit it; there will be somewhere between six and 14 natural disasters that will enrapture the media, and between four and 21 manmade situations that will do the same; it will be a great year to be a conspiracy theorist; less so to be a health care worker or banker.
Personally, I expect the year to go too quickly for me to care about much more than what’s right in front of my face. One year from today, I will try to have finished at least one of the three books I’ve started writing; I plan to be in a better place occupationally and financially; and I simply hope I survive the next 365.25 days relatively unscathed.
I also hope the New Year finds all of you well and better off than the last.
See y’all on 2015 time.

* Not a typo

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on December 31, 2014 at 21:17

    2014 was the year I set to ‘get ready,’ as if such a thing were actually possible. That was, of course, the selfish personal reason behind the switch from Myopia to No Zombies. I had utterly intended to kill the former blog, but found that – as I knew in my heart – I think best aloud. There was no way in hell I was going to get by not writing *anything* all year. And as 2014 rolls to an end, I note that I spent my most recent batch of prep money on 7 used mags for my 1911 and 3 sets of wooden handles for my 6-hole bullet molds. So I guess 2014 was a success, if only because I can’t think of anything else I need to face whatever 2015 brings.

    Sure, there’s stuff I’m missing, but damned if I know what it is. In the last hour I sold an RCBS 45 Colt expander for $20. Maybe I’ll save that picture of Andy Jackson, the last great – or at least effective – hater of central banking. Maybe I’d rather have another 5# of wiping solder* in the barn. But now it’s a question of tradeoffs, not needs.

    I wrote a book thereon and started a die refurbishing business that puts a few bucks in my pocket every day. I couldn’t live on it, but I have plenty of hobbies to spend it on and can now do so without wrecking the household budget. I have 2 or more of every tool I think I’ll need. But I’m surely missing something.

    Being the 50th anniversary of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, this was the year I officially grew tired of the black victimization sob story. The pot-smelling, Colt-45-fueled vigil/riot for each new dead black felon now brings to me a sense of foreboding, for there are a number of ways to bring blacks as a whole to full participation in American culture, and at least three of them are the stuff history books are made of. In a bad way. I no longer see any possibility that this separation of two distinct cultures will end amicably.

    I suspect I’m not alone and have nightmares about what it means when a critical mass of my fellow whites reach the same point. Multiculturalism is a very bad idea, and I suspect we will never reach the point where <50% of the nation is white, because the nation will end first. If it does not end, it will be only because non-white populations are reduced. And that's all I have to say about that.

    Yesterday I bought $1500 in preferred stock in an oil company that has 90% of its production hedged for the next 2 years north of $90. It's off 75% from its annual high. Maybe that's a fool's gamble. Probably. but what the hell?

    No one knows when the Fed's luck finally runs out, but 2015 is as good a guess as any, and certainly as good as 2014 looked 365.25 days ago. Maybe we really can go forever with 0 interest rates and unlimited money creation, or maybe China or Japan implodes this year. There's no way to know which or when. There is only the chance to put your seat backs and tray tables in their full upright positions.

    There's turbulence ahead. Happy 2015, and thank you all for flying Malaysia Airlines.

    * a prep I utterly overlooked in the metals section of The SHTF Stockpile.** 40% tin at about $3 a pound is a pretty good investment with tin selling at $10.
    ** Of which there are now three books of that name on Amazon. Go figure.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 5, 2015 at 15:03

      I no longer see any possibility that this separation of two distinct cultures will end amicably

      I’m fairly well convinced that the list of things to end amicably in the near term is far too short for comfort.
      Perhaps I’m being an optimist by suggesting that there’ll even be a list at all.

  2. cfdxprt said, on January 1, 2015 at 17:08

    Elborak is too smart for me. I love


Leave a Reply

