Rollin' Like Sisyphus

The Problem With Submission

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on January 14, 2015

And by “submission” I of course refer to The Pre-eminent Religion of Pieces.
To put it pointedly, I’m not a fan.
The Official Position of Officials in Power throughout the Western world is that Islam itself is just like every other religion, and save for the actions of a few bad apples, is no different in philosophy or practice than Judaism, Catholicism, Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shintoism, Scientology or Mormonism.
Yet their actions betray their words, as they have already knelt in fealty beneath the pall of a rising crescent moon. Crucifixes bobbing in urine, Broadway musicals about Mormon missionaries and Tom Cruise jumping up and down on Oprah’s couch are all fun and games, but drawing a simple cartoon about a silly pedophile warlord is a bridge too far, because there’s an outside risk of dying, and worse, a noble and principled death, and they know as well as we that to have a principled death one must in fact be principled.
Alas.
It takes all of 7 minutes of amateur Googling to figure out that none of these religions are equal, or more to the point they do not offer equivalent value on an individual or civic level; some are clearly more beneficial than others. Consider which of the following you’d prefer to hold operable influence in your prevailing civic order:
Christianity
Islam
Mormonism
Atheism
Agnosticism
Agnostic Huckleberry will take a Christian social order over all of the others, if for no other reason than its considerable track record inspiring its societies to flourish. The other operable philosophies are either parasitic or wholly sclerotic to the health of every civic order that had the misfortune to come under its influence.
As for Islam, I can’t get right with a system of order that bans pork, that dresses its women funny, that insists on wiping its ass with its own bare left hand yet refuses to countenance dogs because they’re unclean, and that the breadth and depth of the religion’s scholarship focuses on converting the dregs of every society it preys upon not by inspiring better behavior but by excusing all of the failed choices made by those dregs with a systematized codification that insists all of their problems are a conspiracy of infidels.
I’m no religious scholar, but it seems to me that the chief difference between that and Christianity, or just about everything else and Christianity, is that the latter insists that one’s sins are their own, regardless of intentions and the actions of outside actors. Its principles focus on personal responsibility in a way I do not see other religions or philosophies insist upon, and that makes all the difference.
If I have any of this incorrect, please put me some knowledge.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doom said, on January 15, 2015 at 00:45

    As a Christian, to an agnostic? Ouch.

    I suppose I could question your agnosticism. If you can see this, but not Christianity, I could be confused. Until I remember that it wasn’t until I was in my late 30’s, early 40’s, before I got over my own agnosticism… or worse at some stages. I will, however, pray for you. No, don’t take it too personally, although in once sense do. It will be tailored exactly for you. I pray for muslims too, atheists as well, and enemies of many sorts (of which you aren’t considered one… just explaining that I do pray for all… myself included). The Lord help us all, in our ways.

    Still… It does make me chuckle… what you wrote. Hey, I’m easy that way. I’m not just chuckling at you, but myself not so long ago. Welp… best get on to something else… and checking my tp stocks. :p

    • Huckleberry said, on January 15, 2015 at 08:00

      As a Christian, to an agnostic? Ouch

      I’m not sure I get your meaning.


Leave a Reply

