Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Waffle-Face And Other Pitfalls Of Socio-Civic Inertia

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on January 22, 2015
It’ll only feel like forever…

It’ll only feel like forever…

It’s all too common for people in the Doomsayin’ business to succumb to the fantasy that people, or The People, will all come to the same conclusion at the same time, prompted by the same fresh tyranny to take to the streets with, throw off the shackles of their particular oppression and get on with the business of spinning the wheel and hoping not to come up Bankrupt. I’m guilty of this fantasia too, from time to time, wondering just how much people will put up with while not accounting for the fact that I, too, am putting up with it to the same degree.
Despite what most people think, it’s not an economy that keeps a civic order together, nor confidence in a particular system of government, the threat or use of force, or any kind of social contract or sense of responsibility.
In fact, the strongest and only thing that keeps all of this together is something so simple, fragile and ephemeral that it ought to make you wet yourself, that’s how thin the line is.
Habit.
People keep a civilization going far longer than it has any business going simply out of stubborn perpetuation of routine, and often the worse the prevailing civic atmosphere becomes, all the more tightly will people cling to the comforts of the same-old, same-old.
Don’t believe me?
Let’s take a look at Venezuela:
Economy – gone
Confidence in government – gone
Sense of social responsibility – gone
So why are people still lining up for days to go grocery shopping, still going to work (where possible) and school, and otherwise attempting to live out their lives despite the fact that their way of life is a shell of itself?
People will cling to their habits and rituals to the bitter end.
There’s a lesson in that for all of us as we wait for the bottom to fall out from underneath our feet.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on January 22, 2015 at 15:52

    There’s a lesson in that for all of us as we wait for the bottom to fall out from underneath our feet.

    I learned long ago not to get frustrated that what must happen didn’t seem to happen when I thought it should happen. I just reran the numbers and if they came up snake eyes again, sent up a little prayer of thanks that I have time to better prepare for the snake.

    It gets dark early here in January, so I only had time after work today to transplant 5 wild blackberry plants from my cattle pasture to their new home along a fence line I have dedicated to them and their kin. I’m glad I did it, but even gladder I did it after work, if you know what I’m saying.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 23, 2015 at 12:36

      Oh definitely not frustrated. Every day that water comes out of the taps and the lights turn on is all in the WIN column. Because there’s a better than even chance that at some point either of those will be thought of as luxuries.

      if you know what I’m saying

      And I think I do…

  2. Doom said, on January 22, 2015 at 16:48

    Habits are good for people with nothing else. Fortunately or not, what some of us do on any particular day is so far from something like habit that we wouldn’t know habit if it lived next door. My only habit is my next breath, and I’ve outlived even that more than a few times. Sometimes, habit wins. When everything can be made the same, or at least be made to look the same. All other times are my times. I guess being a barbarian might pan out after all.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 23, 2015 at 12:37

      I guess being a barbarian might pan out after all

      I’d say so…


Leave a Reply

