Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Few Things Are More Depressing Than Municipal Elections

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on March 3, 2015
Blank check.

Blank check.

So it’s election day in the City of Angels.
For the past few weeks, our district councilman has been besieging my neighborhood with pamphlets, flyers and hordes of canvassers on foot and Prius, sent out to harangue every last voter in the area to vote for him.
Which is actually fortunate, because this is how I discovered that I am on my district councilman’s “enemies list” for some unknown reason. And if you think a part of me isn’t extremely proud with myself about that, well, you just don’t know your old pal Huckleberry very well then, do you.
Anyway, aside from a few dismal races — including the opportunity to vote for any one of five Democrats for my district’s council seat — the whole thing was barely worth the effort to stuff a blank ballot into the box.
Yet I did so regardless.
Vive la France!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JN said, on March 3, 2015 at 15:42

    What does the blank ballot signify/achieve?

    • Huckleberry said, on March 3, 2015 at 15:56

      It achieves nothing.
      It signifies, in the aggregate, nothing.
      But at a constituent level, I hope that it conveys the fact that I do not condone or consent to anything appearing on the ballot, that they can choke on their own paper in whole and in part, and that having the little old Korean lady cross my name off the list reduces the possibility, at least in my imagination, that an illegal, a scofflaw or a liberal (but I repeat myself) has voted in my stead.
      Besides, if Chicago is any barometer, there’ll be plenty of time to actually vote when I’m dead.

      • JN said, on March 4, 2015 at 11:14

        The Dems will assume you just wanted them to fill it out for you.

      • Huckleberry said, on March 4, 2015 at 12:24

        The Dems will assume you just wanted them to fill it out for you

        Probably.
        I could also get a nasty paper cut.
        You pay your money, you take your chances.

  2. Giraffe said, on March 4, 2015 at 08:23

    That actually makes more sense now that you explain it.

    • Doom said, on March 5, 2015 at 04:10

      Plus one. Might have to emulate. No risk of vote being stolen here, though, so… Depends on if I remember, then wake up, then make it in. Not being a smart aleck, either.


Leave a Reply

