Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on March 20, 2015

Well hey, look, the desk calendar says its Friday already.
Not sure I believe that, but so be it.
Due to UCLA’s improbable win, they’ll be teeing off tomorrow morning, bright and early, a little too early to drink even for me, so what a waste of a good opportunity. But don’t you worry, there’s plenty of basketball and bourbon and beer and BBQ on Huckleberry’s horizon this weekend. Other than that, I came across two pretty cool things at yard sales in the neighborhood recently. One was a two-stage 50 gallon air compressor that I picked up for $20. Just needs a little cleaning and the motor needs a simple going through, and it should be good as new.
The other thing is a WWI Swedish bayonet that fits the Mauser M96 rifle, not that I own such a rifle. The bayonet in great shape, but you can tell by the nicks on the blade that it was used for something at some point. According to the stamps on it, it’s worth a couple of hundred bucks, I nabbed it for $10. Poor old lady didn’t know what she had, and neither did I until I looked up the stamps later.
Oh well.
Out in the world, it’s worth noting that the very same Swedes are pushing their interest rates even deeper into negative territory, which is a kind of inflation if you think about it. Coming soon to a central bank near you, I reckon.
Also, Our Simple Affirmative Action President seems super keen on mandatory voting, just like all those free countries like North Korea and Saddam Hussein’s Iraq have, so you can clearly see where they want to go. If it seems as though the maddening crowd is becoming even more mad, screeching ever louder and going indiscriminately crazy at the slightest perceived provocation, remember that it’s so not because this is a beginning, but because it is an end. Even the caterwaulers sense that the bluffs have now all been called, the antes have all been raised, and there’s nothing much more to do than to put the cards on the table and see who wins, who loses, and who folds.
High card wins
Have a great weekend, y’all.
Get ‘em in.

Gun Chalk

Honestly, milling and building this seems as much fun to me as the thought of firing it.
Maybe I’m just sick that way.


Song Selection

Hey Man, Nice Shot
Short Bus
Filter
Reprise Records | 1995


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on March 20, 2015 at 14:50

    I’m not sure if this is “good music,” but it sure is appropriate music considering how crazy this week has been from Ferguson to Frankfurt.

    I’ve had enough of this week. Here’s to hoping next week doesn’t bring us this one’s logical consequences.

  2. Huckleberry said, on March 20, 2015 at 15:10

    I’m not sure if this is “good music,” but it sure is appropriate music considering how crazy this week has been from Ferguson to Frankfurt

    Surely.
    Nothing quite as epic as bringing a polka to a rap battle.

    I’ve had enough of this week. Here’s to hoping next week doesn’t bring us this one’s logical consequences.

    I’ll drink to that.

    • El Borak said, on March 20, 2015 at 16:12

      I’ll drink to that.

      I’m right there with ya.

  3. Doom said, on March 21, 2015 at 20:07

    I don’t know, I liked the tune, a lot. Actually, it recalls Christ’s first visit… and some of what has to go on from that. At least for some. Might steal that, actually. Hope you don’t mind? Actually, if you don’t want me to, leave a comment.

    I love the cannon, too. He, you(?), has so many nice toys, and skills. Jealous, but in the good way.


Leave a Reply

