Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on March 27, 2015

What a weak end to a week desperately in need of an ending.
And thus, a weekend is born.
Here we are.
I’ve got a new project I’m trying to get done, because it’s well nigh BBQ season and I’m just not feeling my Weber smoker anymore. It’s fine, I guess, but always a bit of a pain in the ass. The brick and mortar smokehouse is gone; I’m not going to try that again. From here on, I’m going to keep it non-permanent, which is a type of temporary I guess, but we’ll save that kind of talk for another time. The problem with the Weber is that 1) I have a bitch of a time keeping it at temp and 2) vertical smokers are by design direct smokers. I prefer indirect because it’s better on the food and with the proper design the fire doesn’t need much tending. The brick and mortar smokehouse was a horizontal, offset design and it worked phenomenally well.
There are tons of offset horizontal smokers on the market, but they cost a pretty penny and it’s no fun just buying something.
So I’m going to build myself an Ugly Drum Smoker.
Sure, it’s vertical, which means direct(ish) heat, but from everything I’ve read and seen, they’re airtight and keep a consistent fire for many, many hours. It doesn’t seem too complicated to build, but the one issue I have is trying to find a suitable 55 gallon metal drum to use. First, everything in Southern California is plastic. We’re awash in 55 gallon plastic rain reclamation barrels, but the metal ones seem to be a precious resource. Used ones get sold to scrap-metal hounds as soon as they’re posted to Craigslist or anywhere else online. It’s especially hard to find anything for the food-grade drums that are less likely to poison the food. Sure, I could buy a brand new, never-used drum, but between the cost for a new barrel and the cost to ship it to my door, plus all of the other components and hardware, it’d be cheaper just to buy on offset smoker.
So I guess the hunt is on.
In other news, everything kind of sucks, from the head down.

Gun Chalk

A buddy of mine was just given this as a wedding gift by his new father-in-law. He wanted to know what I thought of the gun, because he’s not too familiar. I told him I’d never had any experience with one, so we’re heading to the range this weekend to put it through the paces.
I don’t know, at first blush, I like the simplicity and the utility of it, but frankly I don’t have the hat to pull it off I think.
We’ll see.

Song Selection

One Scotch, One Bourbon, One Beer
New Orleans Street Singer
Snooks Eaglin
Folkways Records | 1959


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on March 27, 2015 at 13:52

    GREAT selection. That’s gonna be in my head all weekend. and I can live with that.

    Every day I drive by a guy selling steel 55 gallon drums for $10 each. He’s got a big pile of ’em. Maybe I ought to get a few for the stockpile…

    • Huckleberry said, on March 27, 2015 at 14:42

      Maybe I ought to get a few for the stockpile

      Couldn’t hurt.
      Metal’s metal and in the meantime there’s a ton of useful stuff you can do with them.

    • El Borak said, on March 27, 2015 at 16:50

      But as I’m listening and thinking, I’m not sure whether I prefer the Eaglin or the Hooker version best.

      Guess I’ll just have to break out the bottles and find out. Not a beer drinker myself (gout, you know. Runs in the family) but maybe a bit O spiced rum will make a fitting substitution.

      One bourbon, one scotch, and one John Watling’s Bueva Vista.

      • El Borak said, on March 28, 2015 at 19:22

        But not Captain Morgan White. I like Captain Spiced and Private Stock, but I tried White for the first time tonight and I’m not impressed. It’s not bad, it’s just no better than any other white rum. And I expect more from a brand after which I have named pets.*

        * I have a barn cat with significant brain or nerve damage. TK says she ran it over with a wagon, but I’m not sure that’s the primary cause. Anyway, I’m not a big fan of cats generally, but this one has such a warrior’s heart that I’ve taken a enough liking to it to let it rub against me on occasion. Which it cannot always do consistently. For its nerve damage makes it flounder around, fall over, run into trees, etc., at completely random intervals. It looks like it’s completely wasted all the time, which is why her** name is Captain Morgan.

        ** She got the name before I knew she was a she. And there could be a chick captain. In pink fantasy*** perhaps.

        *** I never found RE Howard’s Valeria remotely believable, fwiw.


Leave a Reply

