Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Wherein Huckleberry Is Officially Done With The Medium Of Television

Posted in The Fail Pail by Huckleberry on April 14, 2015

Not that I really watch much TV anymore anyway, except for sports, and even then much less than I used to. Almost all of my baseball I now listen to on the radio like it’s 1955, which has a certain kind of charm. As for “shows” and such, the last one left I actually enjoy is playing its Swan Song tonight.
Justified is an intricate, well-written show that in many ways works because it throws back to the tried-and-true story-telling elements of the past while presenting interesting characters doing interesting things in believable ways, without nary a preachy or social-justicy moment to be had. Based on a series of books and short stories by one of my favorite writers, Elmore Leonard, the show is simply entertaining the same way things used to be entertaining – without giving a conscious wit to whether toes might be stepped on and how severely so.
Anyway.
Looking at my DVR it’s fairly clear which way the winds are going – I’ve only got the one show anymore that’s about to go off the air; the wife has about 29 that are either those True Crime Docu-Shows or “reality” shows where different gaggles of upper-crusty women gossip about each other in exotic locales.
When Justified is done, it’s clear to me that there is simply nothing left worthy of my time or interest, and that’s alright.


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on April 14, 2015 at 08:19

    I almost watched wrestling last night. Almost.

  2. Giraffe said, on April 15, 2015 at 08:19

    I had Amazon prime for awhile, and I watched the first three or four seasons of Justified. They wanted me to pay to go further than that, and I won’t.

    It’s OK, I’m not lacking for ways to waste time.

    • Huckleberry said, on April 15, 2015 at 12:26

      Yeah, it isn’t worth paying for per Amazon’s Prime model, but it was the last great TV show I’ll probably ever watch.
      Whatever drifts along next I doubt I’ll ever bother with.


Leave a Reply

