Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on July 24, 2015

Friday in a word: sloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow.
Not looking forward to the weekend one bit.
I’m utterly exhausted, and Casa de Huckleberry needs a thorough, top-to-bottom cleaning/tending-to, because someone in the house that isn’t me thinks it’d be swell to have a big ol’ barbecue like we used to with dozens of guests showing up to eat my food, drink my beer and make a mess. That happens next weekend, so this weekend is all about the prep.
And I’m over it already.
Anyway.
In the world, I note it was a mostly uneventful week until this morning, when I awoke to find that the media finally gets its crazed Tea Party Neo-Racist Mass Shooter that it’s been itching to find since Columbine. Also, two IGs request that Clinton be investigated for a host of crimes, which is hilarious because I’m sure that request is already shredded and disintegrating at the bottom of the Potomac as we speak.
Privileged black Millennials desperately wish to tell you that only their lives matter, so stop complaining with all the “all lives matter” bullshit and just keep the EBT cards charged up and ready to swipe. One wonders the consequences when white people actually and honestly do check their privilege, as they are so constantly asked to do. I have a feeling it will result in a lot less free stuff for blacks, and then the fun begins.
In the meantime, history chugs on until that inevitable point where robots develop their own economic interests outside the scope of human affairs, and then we can probably just call it curtains on “civilization” though to be honest I long ago have already.
Meh.
That’s all I know.
Get ’em in and have a more relaxing weekend than I will.

SONG SELECTION

Jailbreak
Jailbreak
Thin Lizzy
Vertigo Records | 1976


5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doom said, on July 24, 2015 at 14:12

    “One wonders the consequences when white people actually and honestly do check their privilege, as they are so constantly asked to do. I have a feeling it will result in a lot less free stuff for blacks, and then the fun begins.” ~ Which happens just as soon as men take their balls back and tell their bitches to get in the back seat, shut up, and enforce it. *wink* But, uhrm. Get busy cleaning. I don’t think you are there yet. *grin*

  2. Doom said, on July 24, 2015 at 14:14

    Oh, hey, nice tune by the way. I’m not real familiar with T.L. Always thought they were gay, so… sort of avoided… after being stung by Queen. But go figure on that one. To be young you HAVE to be stupid? Yeah.

  3. Huckleberry said, on July 24, 2015 at 15:12

    Get busy cleaning

    If you’re foolish enough to trust women with power washers, that’s your own shortsightedness.

    Always thought they were gay

    Not gay.
    Also, mostly dead so you shouldn’t have to worry about any posthumous egresses from the closet.
    I much prefer them to just about any band of the era.

    • Doom said, on July 24, 2015 at 15:53

      They, or at least my women when I have them, already cook. Already live on that edge. Any damage would be fun to watch… for a distance, mostly. As for T.L., then… okay. I’ll take your word on it and start listening. Any best, or best of, album to start, or even a couple of them? I like some of that era, a lot. Not absolutely sure about going back to it, much of that is liked because it was liked back when. Still… worth a shot. Old, new, male, even some women, if it’s good to my ears I’ll buy.

      • Huckleberry said, on July 26, 2015 at 20:02

        Yeah, Black Rose is their best album, which you can listen to here:

        My favorite tracks are Waiting for an Alabi, Toughest Street In Town, and Roisin Dubh.

        Also, their album Fighting is really good, with my favorite tracks being Rosalie, Fighting My Way Back, Freedom Song and Ballad of a Hard Man:


Leave a Reply

