Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Fess Up

Posted in A Chronicle Of Decline by Huckleberry on July 30, 2015

I had one simple rule when I stepped out for a couple of days — don’t break the world while I was gone.
So who did it?
C’mon, now.
Who made the simpletons go batshit retard over a dead lion?
Who made Our Simple Affirmative Action President threaten to run for a third term?
Who crammed Tim Tebow back into the NFL?
Who let a woman coach into the NFL?
Y’all had one job.
And you failed.
It’s a good thing I’m so goddamn relaxed right now.
Anyway, July is on the run, the languid days of August are upon us, and it’s all downhill from here, tumbling through Autumn and then onward to the end, like the gypsies on parade only even more lame in both meanings of the word.
The Chargers and a host of other teams open camp today; normally I’m excited at least a little when this day arrives on the calendar, but today I just don’t know. The NFL is damned determined to light itself on fire for no other reason than because it can — and speaking of the First Female Coach In NFL History, if her story doesn’t end in unplanned pregnancy, I’ll be imminently impressed. More than ever, something that is supposed to be a pastime and escape from the toils of this horrid world is now instead a force-multiplier for all the manifold horrors I desperately seek to escape. It’s like I’m living the first 28 minutes of Logan’s Run for fuck’s sake.
It ain’t right.
One of the saddest and truest things I was ever told was that life is simply the long process of watching everything you hold in any good esteem get lined up and steamrolled by forces you can never hope to contain or compel, again and again and again, without relief, accompanied by a victory dance by someone, somewhere, because for every good thing you love, you can be sure that someone hates it and seeks its destruction, because they are a Progressive and you are a Contrarian, and only the latter understands the true meaning of the concept of Live and Let Live.
And the beat goes on.
But I was at least at the beach for a while.
You can’t take that.
Yet.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doom said, on July 31, 2015 at 04:36

    I love it when you relax! You come back and cheer my right the heck up.

    I used to toast what I loved myself. Why wait? Plus I didn’t know better, understand. Now I don’t… or… not in the same ways. But I don’t have that much, so don’t worry about it all that much. There is a woman on my mind, but I am hoping she doesn’t even think twice about it. She’d jeopardize my whole scheme. They can’t take what doesn’t exist.

    Anyway… Get the sand out of where it doesn’t belong, and back to the pits for you. :p

  2. El B's phone said, on August 2, 2015 at 20:18

    Dude, if we are still on Rain of Toads, yer just pissing into the wind. We kept Joe Biden from declaring for POTUS. What expect ye from mortal men?


Leave a Reply

