Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on August 28, 2015

It’s Friday again, but it always seems as that is so.
It’s a weird day, where I’m trying to shake off the oddest dream, a dream where I was a part of an elaborate plot to take out Millard Fillmore for some reason, and neither myself nor my co-conspirators could say why Fillmore had to die, just that it had to be done. It involved staging a fake 4H Club awards banquet where we would present the 13th president with a lifetime service award, but the award presentation would be like the hand grenade from Death Race 2000 – exactly like it, in fact – but I woke up before it was Go Time.
I wonder how it went.
I’m thankful I don’t remember my dreams much, or hardly ever. Because the few that I do remember haunt me forever. When I was six, I had a horrifying dream where the entire world was black and violet polka dots; when I was a 14, I had an even more horrifying dream where I was trapped in an episode of Perfect Strangers; and when I was 22 I had a dream where I saw my own funeral. Other than that, I don’t remember a single one, and I question really whether I dream at all most nights, because I don’t think I do. Just about every night I tumble to black eventually at some point, then wake up a second later even though a few hours manage to twirl past on the nightstand clock.
Anyway.
Out in the world it’s been a weird week as well. An angry gay black man shot a bunch of people live on TV for a mixed bag of reasons; the Alex Jones weed-dwellers seem pretty sure the whole thing was rigged on a fix, given that the Go Pro view the angry gay black man uploaded to the Twatter seems to show a white hand wearing a blue plaid shirt, while the shot from the dying camera man shows something that much more closely resembles Grimace from the old Ronald McDonald kids cartoon crap. There’s also apparently a weird oddity where the boyfriend of the lady reporter immediately took to twitter to eulogize here, and the timestamps suggest that those tweets took place more than 10 minutes before the shooting. That both things are easily explained away by 1) white balancing and 2) time zones hasn’t slowed this down in the slightest, so I’m excited to see where it goes from here.
A uselessly early reading of the Election 2016 tea leaves suggests that Trump is headed to the White House, Biden is headed to the Fun House, Clinton to the Big House. People in the know sure seem to think she’s going to be indicted on something, incredulously wondering how given that she’s a Democrat and everything. I think it’s simple – Our Simple Affirmative Action President doesn’t like her one bit, and has no interest in calling off the dogs for her. Between the threat of pending indictment on multiple felonies, the loud whispers of cash-for-favors surrounding everything she does, the fact that she’s an insufferable muppet of a woman who barely tolerates anyone but the most sycophantic, and that she doesn’t seem to have a natural constituency at all beyond Wellesely graduates from the classes of 1966-1974, I don’t see how she’s even still in this.
Yet she is.
And no worries about the economic state of the world ; we’ve had two straight days of RALLY, and the US Government just re-revised the earlier revisions to the estimates of our quarterly economic health, and it turns out they found a bunch of positive stuff that must have just slipped through the cracks, with the previous three quarters of GDP “revised” upward significantly, which can only mean one thing.
WE’RE BACK, MOFOS.
Eh, on the home front it’s still hotter than the flopsweat between a fat woman’s folds in August in the Everglades, and just about as humid. So it should be a perfect time to head outside and build out an addition to the back deck.
I can hardly wait.
Have a bitchin’ weekend and get ‘em in.

SONG SELECTION

Born To Be Bad
Born To Be Bad
George Thorogood & The Destroyers
EMI Records | 1988


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Giraffe said, on August 28, 2015 at 10:42

    A uselessly early reading of the Election 2016 tea leaves suggests that Trump is headed to the White House, Biden is headed to the Fun House, Clinton to the Big House.

    Worth the price of admission. I’m hoping for two out of three.

  2. El Borak said, on August 28, 2015 at 10:58

    Just like 2005, only forever.

    So yeah, I’ve long had the feeling that the Clintons personified Machiavelli’s dictum that it’s better to be feared than loved, except in the reverse one should expect in a democracy. Bill was feared a little, but he was loved more, and so got away with a lot of stuff that no one else could have. Sure, there was always the Clinton Enemy Destruction Machine, but Bill seldom needed it with his 18 Charisma.

    Hillary is unlovely and so has relied on fear to get this far. The only reason others are not in the Dem race is because they are afraid of the Clinton machine. And while she was flying high, pure inertia kept her there: no one thought they could bring her down, ergo no one tried, ergo no one did. But now that she’s wounded, there’s a little less fear factor. Obama certainly doesn’t fear her anymore. Punxatawney Biden has started looking for his shadow. Even Captain Climate is making noises about a do over. There will be more.

    Whoever is dragging this email thing out, he is a true master. He is patient and brilliant*: no swinging for the quick knockout, but letting Hillary strangle herself. She hasn’t her husband’s ability to convincingly lie, nor the ability to smile and shrug her way out like he did. So she swings in the wind while the noose tightens.

    Unlike her, it’s a thing of beauty.

    * he is therefore not Obama

  3. JN said, on August 28, 2015 at 11:49

    it’s still hotter than the flopsweat between a fat woman’s folds in August in the Everglades, and just about as humid.

    You certainly have a way with…*threw up a little in my mouth*…words.

  4. Doom said, on September 1, 2015 at 00:50

    Thorogood… That was just plain man-to-boy and back rock. I actually miss how quaint it now seems. Naive? Not quite, just the simple male truths… or something. Or fantasy truths.

    I’ve been coming under some sort of attack. I seem to be able to comment, after a lot of work. But I’ve been back to commenting only to have that taken away before long again. So… that’s why I have been away. Sure, you and the others can probably use the break from time to time. Times up! For now. :p

    JN,

    That just made me laugh. Then you added gas to the laugh fire. Horrible. But… Thorogood!


Leave a Reply

