Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on January 8, 2016

What a week.
What a world.
I feel like I’ve done this a time or two before, but perhaps I’m just going insane.
Despite how quickly the week has passed by, it’s felt slow and lumbering. I suppose that’s partly an artifact of vacation hangover, the low slag of trying to shuffle back into routine, and waiting on news that may be good, or bad, depending on either 1) the sum totals of decisions and actions of manifold people or 2) the passing fancy of good vibes and pagan totems.
Meh.
I note on the TV behind me that a Philadelphia cop was ambushed by a shooter “for Islam” so this really is the party that just keeps on rolling. Combine that with a surprising number of suspected terrorists arrested all around the country today, the terrorist who ran down a bunch of people in Paris to “become a martyr” and the terrorist who stormed into a police station wearing a bomb vest, well, the game’s afoot I’d say. All of that against a backdrop of coordinate meet-and-rapes throughout Europe on New Year’s Eve, and all I can say is that I’m curious to see who the next Hitler will be.
As we wind our way toward an election that no one cares about, I see that CLINTON II – THE RESTORATION is hitting a few snags, namely the victims of all the rapin’ and molestin’ by CLINTON I coupled with the remarkably clear felonies that continue to hemorrhage out of Hillary’s emails. Frankly I’m a little shocked that the investigations continue, and I have to think they’re a safety valve in case CLINTON II can’t close the deal. Or, Our Simple Affirmative Action President detests her so much that, politics be damned, the Clinton Dynasty is ending on the rocks come Hell or High Water. We’ll see if the DOJ ever actually brings charges, and if so, if Hillary will take the hint and drop out, or keep on chuggin’ until she’s put into Federal prison, where Our Simple Affirmative Action President can graciously grant her clemency on his final day in office, ensuring an end to her political career and keeping a chit in his back pocket in case he ever needs to bum a ride to Child Rape Island with CLINTON I.
What else.
Oh, yeah. I’m sure some of you have heard tell of the Netflix documentary Making A Murderer that through 10 episodes breaks down the trial and conviction of two simple men for the supposed rape and real murder of a young woman in small-town Wisconsin. It’s one of those things that seems to cleanly divide the law-and-order types from the fuck-the-police types. I’m not going to get into the background of the thing, but I will note that the documentary pretty clearly demonstrates everything that is wrong with both 1) Wisconsin and 2) the criminal justice system both in whole and in part. The fix was in on both trials showcased in that series from the get-go, from the judges to the prosecutors to the cops to the public defenders. When everyone involved gets their paychecks from the same place, there is absolutely no circumstance under which one can get a fair shot. The system needs to go. The media that hounds the system needs to go. The so-called jurisprudence that administers the system needs to go. Total and complete anarchy is preferable to this pile of shit we call The Justice System.
Anyway.
I’m going to go drink some now.
Have a bitchin’ weekend and get ‘em in.

SONG SELECTION

You Was Born To Die
Single B-Side
Blind Willie McTell
Decca Records | 1933


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on January 8, 2016 at 13:35

    I loves me some blues on a Friday afternoon.

    This was one of those incredible weeks where I completed everything except the one thing that I was supposed to do, which will have to wait for next week. Which, coincidentally, is the first day of class. So something else will be on fire and the one thing I have to do will have to wait again. Probably until it catches on fire.

    It’s ok, because our department gamblers’ pool spent our our holiday lottery winnings* on Powerball tickets*. So if my number comes up in a good way, I won’t have to worry about what’s on fire Monday. Of course, if comes up the other way, the same result occurs.

    Sol, Vikings.

    * $104 or so, giving us a -70% ROI. Still, that’s a better return than my favorite fracking company over the same period. It’s a good thing I don’t invest in fracking companies. That would be crazy.
    ** which in Kansas government is considered a retirement plan on par with the state pension fund.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 10, 2016 at 07:32

      $1.3B for the next Powerball. You could a country for that.


Leave a Reply

