Rollin' Like Sisyphus

The Difference Between A Hawk And A Handsaw — Plus Playoff Picks

Posted in Playoff Picks by Huckleberry on January 8, 2016

imageIt’s that time of year.
That January time of year where I bait you in with the promise of something substantive, hook you with cheerleaders, then throw some damn football in your face instead.
And not even really football, but my shitty football playoff picks.
That’s what you get in January.
It’s an interesting playoff field this year, especially the Wild Cards, with the most interesting games being Vikes/Hawks and Chiefs/Texans. Steelers/Bengals seems like a stupid matchup, their third of the season, but I’m still somehow intrigued. You’ve got a young Bengals QB who has a lot to prove and may be more physically talented than the guy he’s replacing, especially in playoff games. The Steelers are old, but possessed of a pedigree for this kind of winning. Oddly, the only game I honestly don’t care about is Redskins/Packers, if only for all the hyperventilating about RACISM because that’s all sports media does anymore, find new and uninteresting ways to hyperventilate about things only loosely related to actual sports. The only other interesting note I have is that all four home teams are significant underdogs.
Home cookin’.
All that being said, I doubt I’ll watch much if at all. The weekends already fly by too quickly without dumping 16 hours of it on games for which I barely even have a rooting interest. IF I gambled, it’d be a different story, ahem, BUT I DON’T SO IT’S NOT.
Anyway.

PLAYOFF PICKS – WILD CARD ROUND

STRAIGHT UP

KC v @HOU | KC
PIT v @CIN | PIT
SEA v @MIN | MIN
GB v @WAS | GB

AGAINST THE SPREAD

KC v @HOU | KC -3
PIT v @CIN | PIT -2.5
SEA v @MIN | MIN +4.5
GB v @WAS | GB -1

2016 RECORD

STRAIGHT UP |
AGAINST THE SPREAD |

ALL-TIME RECORD 2013-2015

STRAIGHT UP | 20-9
AGAINST THE SPREAD | 18-10-1

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on January 8, 2016 at 10:40

    Purple is my favorite color for a reason.

  2. Giraffe said, on January 8, 2016 at 10:50

    I hope your are correct, except I don’t mind if GB loses.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 10, 2016 at 07:34

      Yeah me either. Seattle’s usually shit on the road and Lynch is out. I hope the Vikings can take advantage of that.

  3. El Borak said, on January 9, 2016 at 21:34

    Re: Chiefs, Steelers

    Jesus, Huck. I hope you’re half as good tomorrow.
    And I think you know exactly which half I’m talking about.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 10, 2016 at 07:31

      Yeah if I’m wrong about one of the remaining games I hope I’m wrong about Green Bay/Washington. Unfortunately I won’t get to watch much of either game today.

    • Huckleberry said, on January 10, 2016 at 13:19

      Do keep in mind that if the Vikings kicker could nail a 15-yard field goal attempt the Vikings win that game. Seattle deserved to lose.


Leave a Reply

