Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday by Huckleberry on April 15, 2016

Guess what day it is.
C’mon now.
Guess.
It’s not nothing that the theme song to Happy Days slid right on past Friday like it didn’t even exist, because the true horror of the universe, the existential dread that fuels everything from The Tell-Tale Heart to The Twilight Zone is the fact that it’s always Friday, every single day, again and again, even when it’s not. Because what is Friday other than another way of saying it’s THE END?
THE END.
THE END WITH NO DISCERNABLE CATHARSIS, OTHER THEN THE HIGH-TENSION DREAD THAT NEXT WEEK IS ANOTHER BOULDER UP THAT HILL.
Good Luck and Happy Trails.
Out in the world, we’re just about half way through PHASE III of the US Presidential Election, and none of the important issues concerning it have come any closer to resolution. Trump is still in the driver’s seat. Cruz is still in the back seat. Kasich is still being drug along behind by a rope tied to the rear bumper. The Establishment is still making plans to carjack the whole damn thing. Sanders is still a communist, a crank, and more than a bit simple, and the Presumed Felon-Elect still faces potential indictments in an ongoing Federal election while her poll numbers do their best impression of the DOW after some wiseacre spooks the animal spirits.
And yet the people paid to talk about such things instead go on and on about the grim superficialities because it’s simply all they know, so hour after hour, day after day, week after week we get lots of gum-flapping and little to show for it.
I FUCKING LOVE REPRESENTIVE DEMOCRACY.
Closer to home the weather’s been great, I’m been busy teaching myself Selenium Webdriver for some reason, I managed to score a sincere letter of apology from none other than THE FUCKING IRS for their attempts to double-tap that which was never theirs, and I actually managed to make significant progress on the smoker. I’ll throw up picks later. It’s turning out pretty damn good if I do say so myself.
If y’all remember that thing I was trying to write last year about The Decline, well, I’m working on a shortened version that deals with the five primers and a little more in-depth explanation, and I’m aiming it for people like my mother-in-law who don’t really know any of the underlying issues but who have realized in the past couple of years that everything they once knew was a fraud. I think it’ll be about a 75 to 110 page little ebook and I’ll throw it up on Amazon or something.
I had laid out the broad strokes of the primers and the main thrust, and if any of y’all can think of things I missed, glossed over, incorrectly explained or am irredeemably incorrect about, please give me a heads up.
Anyway, that’s all I know right now.
Get ‘em in and have a badass weekend.

SONG SELECTION

She’s Drunk All The Time
High Noon In A Dark Blue Sea
Tim Timebomb & Friends
Pirate’s Press Records | 2013


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on April 15, 2016 at 21:07

    Help, I’m slipping into the Twilight Zone. Place is a madhouse, and Hillary is the favorite to run it. But I repeat myself.

    So anyway, I’m available to edit/critique/mock anything you’d like. Seriously. Because right now I’m working on a story about a girl whose most prized possession is a toadstone. Think about that: A. Toad. Stone.

    And so while I’ve said just about everything I’ve got to say about the Screaming Years headed our way, I’m more than happy to help you say your piece better. Or more screamingly. Or something.

    To Huck or to toadstone, that is the question. As Billy Ray Shakespeare famously begged, Help a brother out, yo.

    • Huckleberry said, on April 18, 2016 at 17:23

      I have no idea what a toadstone is, yet I feel your pain.
      I’ll absolutely take you up on that when I’ve got a draft close to done.
      Though you might end up missing the toadstone when all is said and done.


Leave a Reply

