Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Heaven’s Scaffolding, Hell’s Skylight

Posted in Greatest Hits by Huckleberry on January 31, 2013

20130131-092119.jpg
Constituencies. Plus, decay is a kind of prosperity, if you think about it…

Or, to put it another way, Stuck in the Middle With You.

As we grind on through this interminable, intractable nightmare we call living, it bears notice that everything we (the broader culture, not actually you and me) are currently talking about is useless and meaningless and an utter waste of both oxygen and carbon dioxide. The Woman asked me yesterday why I’m not all up-in-arms at the recent blatant pushes by the government and the media to implement everything I know to be wrong, unjust, and criminally insane. Five years ago, she reminds me, I wouldn’t have shut up about it. Now, I shrug my shoulders, chortle to myself, and continue on with my day. Have I lost my fire, she asks, or am I just getting older, she wonders, or am I just embracing my inner-pragmatist, she muses.

No, it’s none of those things.

The reason why is simply because it doesn’t matter.

The Game’s over, and they’ve lost.

Gun Control: They won’t have the money to enforce it, and being a citizen of the great state of California, I know a thing or two about non-compliance. ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ, cocksuckers.

Immigration Reform: Less illegals are coming here every year, birth rates are falling quickly in Mexico, we won’t soon have the money to keep paying their welfare. Let’s face it, they’ve already been voting for decades, probably without their knowledge, for the Democratic Party, so I really don’t know what will be different other than the demise of the Rule of Law, which is already dead.

The Fiscal Cliff: The most unserious attempt to deal with matters of budget and finance by the government I’ve ever seen. More comical than anything else, it was like watching 536 clowns attempt to equitably parcel out the contents of a single empty pizza box.

The Media and our Simple Affirmative Action President: I still say the media as a force of influence is done. They can go on and on about how they got Barack “The Dow Jones Shock” re-elected, influencing women and minorities to protect Their Boy Friday. But the president is the first in history to be re-elected with less votes than he received four years earlier. He lost votes, and was abandoned by millions of his former acolytes. The only media influence here is convincing people who had voted for him the first time to walk away entirely in disgust at the whole fucking thing. I can hardly blame them.

The President’s War Against His Opposition: The chief opposition to our Simple Affirmative Action President is the GOP. Lord knows they deserve to be obliterated, especially since the lesson of the last election – absent the coming revelation that millions of GOP-cast ballots were disappeared – is that the RINOs are the only ones left voting that way. The liberty minded folk have abandoned the party and made it known in no uncertain terms that the days of voting for lesser evils can be safely relegated to the era of the Bush Doctrine, Compassionate Conservatism, and a more wonderfully violent NFL experience. Besides, a party that controls a fraction of 33.3 percent of the government and responds by folding like cheap laundry at every available opportunity cannot be blamed if only for the fact that so few of them will be voted against as incumbents in the next Clown Show.

Why none of it matters: Soon, and we won’t see it coming as fast as it will, we’ll all wake up one morning and find that cash is worthless, bank accounts have been frozen, and we’re all getting an expenses-paid trip to Zimbabwe. It’ll be shocking to a media commentariat suddenly wondering if their paychecks will clear next Friday, but in retrospect historians will wonder how we couldn’t see it coming down to the precise day and time. Not only is the country broke, it is so far in the hole it’s half-way to China by now.

So why doesn’t THAT bother me?

What can I do? It’s clear that my views regarding an economic system based on, you know, something valuable, are so far out on the fringe that no one cares to hear about it. The country had a chance to take the high road to a painful but short recovery, like Iceland, but it decided to pass and draw out the misery with no recovery at all.

So here we are, at a place and time that history will record not as a lost decade, but as a lost century for the developed world. The days of super-powerful nation-states is just about wrapped up, and if this country is still one country for much longer, I’ll be greatly impressed.

And why doesn’t THAT bother me either?

Because I’ll lay dollars to donuts (take the donuts!) that the world will be more free and more inclined toward personal liberty at the end of the 21st century than at the beginning of it.

Not that I’ll be around for you to tell me how full of shit I am, but still.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on January 31, 2013 at 09:41

    You know, sometimes I think the only reason I keep Myopia alive is so I can link here.

  2. Huckleberry said, on February 1, 2013 at 09:45

    Thanks, that’s the nicest thing anyone’s said about this place on the Internet.
    Your site is still rolling on. And hey, half of the six people who still read this blog come the Myopia. I really don’t want to begin saying “the three people who still read this blog.”

  3. EL Borak said, on February 1, 2013 at 16:56

    I hear you cluckin’, Big Chicken.

    Anyway, on the XD, you might not surprised to know that a) it sold out in record time, and b) we had to substitute a gun that we could actually get, a Taurus .40. So while you didn’t get in the drawing, you didn’t miss much.

    I do have tickets on a nice 1911 ($5, 6/$20) that we’re doing 300 tix on. If you still want to take a chance of having it shipped to Cali, hit me up.


Leave a comment