Rollin' Like Sisyphus

Good Music Friday

Posted in Good Music Friday, The Fail Pail by Huckleberry on March 11, 2016

Just talkin’ ‘bout Friday.
After treading water at a steady pace in 2014 and 2015, I do have to declare that 2016 has kicked it up a notch. It’s definitely going by faster.
We were just here.
WE JUST DID THIS.
Alas.
Too much to do, not enough time in which to do it, like a man falling to his death I simply try to grab ahold of whatever I can on the way down in the vain attempt to mitigate the descent.
The descent cannot be mitigated.
On that cheery note, at least it’s Friday, and you can’t take that away from me no matter how you try it. I note with mild apprehension that the state of the world isn’t all that great, nor is it particularly interesting. Both major political parties keep having televised debates for some reason, though I cannot fathom why. It’s good old times watching the weeping vagina with a face Glenn Beck go insane again, because he was past due, and at least one small thing in this horrible, forsaken world once again looks familiar.
I suppose Tuesday is THE BIG DAY, somehow distinct from this past Saturday’s BIG DAY, last Tuesday’s BIG DAY, the Saturday before last’s BIG DAY and the Tuesday before last’s BIG DAY, but you get the point. THEY CAN’T ALL BE FUCKING BIG DAYS. People who enjoy political math but insist that actual math is racist because the Mexicans can’t hack it will tell you that Trump can put the GOP nomination IN THE BAG with wins in Florida and Ohio, or that if he only gets one of the two, so long as Cruz doesn’t beat him in either, he still ices it. If he loses both, look out.
Or not.
It’s a forgone conclusion that Trump will skid sideways into the GOP convention with the most delegates. It’s not enough for him to “lose” the remaining contests, but also for Cruz and no one else to overwhelmingly win them from here on out.
Everything else is just people that like hearing themselves type oblige themselves.
It looks like the European Experiment is going swimmingly, and by that I mean it’s taking on water and the survivors better know how to swim, because it’s DOWN WITH THE SHIP time over there. A part of me feels not all that bad about it, while the other part of me insists GOOD RIDDANCE TO BAD RUBBISH.
Fuck ‘em. Go with God, or go with the other thing.
They’ve made their choice, and we’ve made ours, and let crumble what may.
It’s the drinkin’ hour, well met and just in time.
Around here, not much; too busy with a bureaucracy that the Constitution swore to me would never exist, but we live in an era of empty promises, just like all of the others.
Haven’t had too much time to work on the smoker, but I did get the firebox door cut out and hinged, then tacked on some square bar on the inside to help give it a good seal. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to get back to it tonight or tomorrow, but there’s so much stacked against me it does not look promising.

  

Have a great weekend, and get some in.

SONG SELECTION

Hymn 43
Aqualung
Jethro Tull
Reprise Records | 1971

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. El Borak said, on March 11, 2016 at 11:20

    Wow, that song choice takes one back. Best album I haven’t heard in 20 years. For some odd reason, I’ll get “Cross-Eyed Mary” stuck in my head on occasion. Those tend to be occasions not worth remembering, however, and humming the opening riff of Seek and Destroy will usually clear it out anyway.

    Rum tonight? Or whiskey?

    • Huckleberry said, on March 11, 2016 at 12:35

      Oh it’s definitely a whiskey night over here. The wife picked me up a new bottle of Russell’s Reserve and if it survives the week I’ll be impressed.
      As for the music, yeah, the radio never plays Jethro Tull anymore, though to be honest I don’t much remember that they’d ever had.
      If it weren’t for my father’s extensive collection there’s a lot of music I’d be completely ignorant of. Also, Seek and Destroy is preferable to nearly everything else in my experience.

  2. doomdigit said, on March 13, 2016 at 21:27

    “It looks like the European Experiment is going swimmingly”

    It’ll take you in, it’ll spit you out…


Leave a comment